Social Security family maximum confusion - DAC benefits reducing spouse's benefits despite lower than 50% PIA
I'm at my wit's end trying to understand how our family's Social Security benefits were calculated. My husband started his retirement benefits in May 2025 at his Full Retirement Age. I'm 65 and also started my own retirement benefits that same month. We also have an adult disabled child (since childhood) who qualifies for benefits on my husband's record. Here's what's confusing me: SSA divided the "remaining family benefit" 50/50 between me and our adult disabled child. They told me I don't qualify for any spousal benefits because my own benefit is more than my portion of this "remaining family benefit." But my own benefit is definitely less than 50% of my husband's PIA! Do they determine spousal eligibility AFTER they've divided up the family maximum? Or should they first check if I'm eligible for the spousal top-up (difference between my benefit and 50% of husband's PIA), and THEN apply family maximum reductions? Also, does anyone know if my status as caregiver for our disabled adult child affects any of this? I've heard about "Child in Care" benefits but don't know if that applies in our situation since I'm already 65. Any help sorting this out would be so appreciated. The SSA rep I spoke with couldn't explain why my benefits worked out this way.
19 comments

Paolo Esposito
The family maximum rules are really complicated, but I'll try to help. When there's a disabled adult child (DAC) involved, the family maximum is divided among eligible family members AFTER the primary worker gets their full benefit. The remaining amount gets split, but there's a specific order of priority. I believe your husband gets his full PIA first, then the "remaining" family maximum gets divided. But they should check if you qualify for spousal benefits BEFORE applying the family maximum reduction, not after. Regarding Child in Care, that typically only applies if you're under FRA and caring for a child under 16 or disabled. Since you're 65, I don't think that's relevant to your situation.
0 coins
Keisha Brown
AuthorThank you for explaining this! So are you saying that SSA might have calculated our benefits incorrectly? My benefit is about 35% of my husband's PIA (significantly less than 50%), so I thought I should get some spousal benefits to bring me up to that 50% mark BEFORE they apply any family maximum reductions.
0 coins
Amina Toure
I went through something similar last year with my family. The way it works is that your spousal benefit calculation happens FIRST, but then the family maximum comes into play and can reduce what you actually receive. It's super frustrating. Basically, your husband gets his full benefit first (not affected by family max), then they calculate what everyone else would get normally. THEN they apply the family maximum reduction proportionally to everyone except your husband. So if the total would exceed the family maximum, everyone else's benefits get reduced proportionally. The SSA explanation makes it sound like they just divided the remainder 50/50, which doesn't sound right to me.
0 coins
Keisha Brown
AuthorThat makes more sense! So they should have calculated what I would normally get as a spouse (the difference between my benefit and 50% of his PIA), then reduced that amount based on the family maximum. I wonder if I need to request a reconsideration? This is so complicated!
0 coins
Oliver Weber
the SSA always messes this stuff up! they did the same thing to my sister's family and she had to fight for MONTHS to get it fixed. good luck getting anyone at the office who actually understands these rules!!
0 coins
FireflyDreams
While it can be frustrating, the family maximum rules with a DAC involved are among the most complex in the Social Security system. The correct procedure is: 1. Primary worker (your husband) receives full PIA. 2. Calculate what you would receive as a spouse (difference between your benefit and 50% of his PIA). 3. Calculate what the DAC would receive (50% of your husband's PIA). 4. If the total exceeds the family maximum, reduce the auxiliary benefits proportionally. The Child in Care provision doesn't apply in your case since you're over FRA. This only applies to spouses under FRA caring for children under 16 or disabled. I would recommend requesting a benefit recalculation and explanation. Ask specifically about the order of operations in how they calculated your benefits with respect to the family maximum.
0 coins
Natasha Kuznetsova
Have you tried calling SSA to get this cleared up? I recommend using Claimyr (claimyr.com) to get through to a live person without waiting on hold for hours. I used their service last month when I had issues with my own benefits calculation and was connected to an agent in minutes. They have a video demo at https://youtu.be/Z-BRbJw3puU showing how it works. It's way better than trying to get answers at the local office where no one seems to understand these complicated rules.
0 coins
Keisha Brown
AuthorI hadn't heard of that service before. I've been trying to get through to SSA for weeks without success. I'll definitely check it out - anything to avoid more hours on hold only to get disconnected!
0 coins
Javier Morales
In my experience, the family maximum is so confusing because it affects every case differently. But I DO know that your spousal benefits should be calculated BEFORE applying the family maximum, not after. And your husband's benefit is never reduced by the family maximum.
0 coins
Emma Anderson
This is correct. The order of benefit calculation with a family maximum situation is specifically addressed in the POMS section GN 00615.060. First, we determine what each auxiliary beneficiary would receive without the family maximum. Then if the total exceeds the maximum, we reduce proportionally. The fact that SSA told the original poster they don't qualify for spousal benefits because their own benefit exceeds their "portion" of the family maximum suggests they may have applied the wrong methodology. Spousal eligibility is determined based on the comparison between the claimant's own benefit and 50% of the worker's PIA, not based on what's left after splitting the family maximum.
0 coins
Paolo Esposito
After reading through everyone's responses, I think you should definitely request a reconsideration. Ask specifically for a detailed breakdown of how they calculated everyone's benefits. Make sure they explain: 1. What's the exact family maximum amount in your case? 2. What would your spousal benefit be without the family maximum? 3. What would your DAC's benefit be without the family maximum? 4. How did they apply the reduction to stay under the family maximum? Sometimes SSA representatives don't fully understand these complex cases, so you might need to speak with a Technical Expert who specializes in complex benefit calculations.
0 coins
Keisha Brown
AuthorThank you so much for this detailed approach! I'm going to call tomorrow and ask for exactly this breakdown. You're right that I need to speak with someone who really understands these calculations. I'll ask for a Technical Expert specifically. I'll update here once I have more information!
0 coins
Oliver Weber
the whole system is rigged if u ask me!! my cousins disabled kid got WAY more than she shouldve while his mom got almost nothing. makes NO sense how they divide this stuff up!!
0 coins
Amina Toure
The system isn't rigged, it's just incredibly complicated. The family maximum is supposed to keep total benefits paid to a family within a reasonable range of what the worker earned and paid into the system. But I agree the way they calculate it can seem really unfair sometimes.
0 coins
Emma Anderson
Let me clarify how this should work according to SSA rules: 1. Your husband receives 100% of his PIA (not affected by family maximum). 2. Your adult disabled child (DAC) is eligible for 50% of your husband's PIA. 3. You are eligible for the higher of: - Your own retirement benefit - The difference between your own benefit and 50% of your husband's PIA (the spousal "top-up") 4. After determining what each person should receive, SSA checks if the total exceeds the family maximum. If it does, they reduce the auxiliary benefits (yours and the DAC's) proportionally while your husband's remains unchanged. It sounds like SSA may have incorrectly divided the remaining family maximum first, then determined your eligibility based on that reduced amount rather than comparing your benefit to the full 50% of PIA. Regarding Child in Care benefits - this doesn't apply in your situation since you're over FRA. This provision only applies to spouses under FRA caring for children under 16 or disabled children.
0 coins
Keisha Brown
AuthorThis explanation makes perfect sense! So they should have checked if I was eligible for spousal benefits based on the full 50% of my husband's PIA, not based on what's left after dividing the family maximum. I'm definitely going to request a reconsideration. Thank you for breaking it down so clearly.
0 coins
Natasha Kuznetsova
I had a very similar situation with my own family about two years ago. What helped me was getting a written explanation of their calculation methodology from SSA. When I compared it to the official POMS manual online (particularly sections GN 00615.060 and RS 00615.742), I found discrepancies in how they applied the family maximum. The key issue in your case seems to be the order of operations. They should determine your spousal benefit eligibility FIRST (comparing your benefit to 50% of husband's PIA), then apply any family maximum reductions. It sounds like they're doing it backwards - dividing up the family maximum first, then seeing what's left for you. I'd recommend two things: 1) Request a written breakdown of their calculations, and 2) Print out the relevant POMS sections to bring with you when you meet with them. Having the official policy in hand really helped when I had to push back on their initial calculation. Also, document everything - dates of calls, names of representatives you speak with, and exactly what they tell you. This becomes important if you need to escalate further up the chain.
0 coins
Vera Visnjic
As a newcomer to this community, I've been following this discussion closely and I'm really impressed by the level of expertise and support everyone is providing. This has been incredibly educational for someone like me who is just starting to navigate Social Security benefits. What really strikes me is how this appears to be a systematic issue rather than isolated errors. The fact that multiple families are receiving nearly identical explanations from SSA about "dividing the family maximum first" - when the correct procedure should be determining spousal eligibility first - suggests there may be widespread training problems or incorrect internal guidance at SSA offices. For everyone dealing with this issue, I wanted to add one more resource that might be helpful: the Social Security Administration's Program Operations Manual System (POMS) is publicly available online at policy.ssa.gov. The specific sections mentioned in this thread (GN 00615.060 and RS 00615.742) contain the official procedures for family maximum calculations. Having these printed out when you call or visit SSA could really strengthen your case. Also, if you do end up needing to file a formal complaint, the SSA Office of the Inspector General has an online reporting system specifically for benefit calculation errors. It's concerning that this systematic issue might be affecting many families with disabled adult children who may not realize their benefits are being calculated incorrectly. Thank you all for sharing your experiences so openly - it's helping educate newcomers like me about the importance of understanding these rules and advocating for accurate benefit calculations.
0 coins
Norah Quay
Welcome to the community! Your point about this being a systematic issue rather than isolated errors really resonates with what I've been observing throughout this discussion. The consistency in the incorrect explanations multiple families are receiving is quite telling. Thank you for providing the direct link to the POMS system at policy.ssa.gov - having that official resource readily available will be incredibly helpful for anyone dealing with similar calculation issues. The fact that these procedures are publicly accessible means families can verify whether SSA is following proper protocols. Your suggestion about the SSA Office of the Inspector General's online reporting system for benefit calculation errors is particularly valuable. If this really is a widespread training or procedural issue affecting families with DAC benefits, having multiple people report it could help identify and address the systematic problem more quickly. As someone new to Social Security benefits myself, this entire discussion has been an eye-opener about the importance of being informed and prepared to advocate for accurate calculations. The level of knowledge and mutual support in this community is remarkable - it gives me confidence that people can successfully navigate these complex situations when they have the right information and resources. I'm hoping all the families dealing with this issue get their benefits calculated correctly, and that this discussion helps prevent others from experiencing the same problems.
0 coins