Social Security Family Maximum confusion with disabled adult child and child-in-care spousal benefits - smaller payments than expected
I'm really confused about our family benefit situation and hoping someone can clarify the Family Maximum rules. My husband (64) started collecting his reduced retirement benefits last year. I'm 61 and caring for our disabled son who's 26 and has been disabled since childhood. I recently applied for Child-in-Care spousal benefits on my husband's record, and we also filed for our son to receive Disabled Adult Child (DAC) benefits. Both applications were approved, but the monthly amounts are WAY lower than we expected! We thought each would be close to 50% of my husband's PIA, but they're significantly less. I think we're hitting the Family Maximum Benefit limit, but I'm confused about how this works. My questions are: 1) Is my husband's own retirement benefit counted as part of the Family Maximum cap? 2) If yes, is it his full PIA amount that counts toward the cap, or just his actual reduced benefit amount since he filed early? We're trying to budget for ongoing care expenses for our son, and the difference of several hundred dollars monthly is really significant for us. Any insights on how the Family Maximum works in this situation?
28 comments


Lucas Turner
Yes, the Family Maximum Benefit (FMB) is definitely what's affecting your benefits here. To answer your questions directly: 1) Yes, your husband's retirement benefit DOES count against the Family Maximum calculation 2) It's his actual reduced benefit amount that counts, not his PIA The FMB is typically between 150-180% of the worker's PIA. Since your husband took benefits early, his reduced amount counts toward this cap, but the cap itself is still calculated based on his PIA. This often creates a situation where auxiliary beneficiaries (you and your son) receive less than you might expect. Have you considered whether you might qualify for benefits on your own record instead? That wouldn't be subject to the family maximum on your husband's record.
0 coins
Eleanor Foster
•Thank you for the clear explanation. I do have my own work record, but my PIA would be significantly lower than my husband's. I was hoping the child-in-care benefit would be more substantial while we wait until I reach my FRA. So if I understand correctly, the cap is based on his PIA, but his actual reduced benefit counts against that cap, leaving less room for our benefits. That seems so unfair! Is there any way to appeal this calculation?
0 coins
Kai Rivera
had the SAME ISSUE with my grandkids!!! the family max is a KILLER and they dont explain it well at all!! the social security people never mentioned it to me until AFTER everything was approved and the checks started coming. so frustrating!!!
0 coins
Eleanor Foster
•It really is frustrating! Did you find any way to get a clearer explanation or increase the benefits? I feel like we're being penalized for my husband taking his retirement early, even though we had no choice with our son's care needs.
0 coins
Anna Stewart
I'd like to add a bit more technical detail on how the Family Maximum Benefit (FMB) calculation works, as it can be confusing. The FMB formula has four "bend points" and is calculated using the worker's Primary Insurance Amount (PIA). It's typically between 150-188% of the worker's PIA, depending on their earning history. When a worker files early, their own reduced benefit is counted first against the maximum. Then, any remaining amount in the "family pool" is divided proportionally among auxiliary beneficiaries (your child-in-care spousal benefit and your son's disabled adult child benefit). So yes, your husband's benefit counts against the maximum, and it's his actual reduced amount that's counted. This leaves less in the family benefit pool to be divided between you and your son. To verify all this is correct, you should request a detailed explanation of your benefit calculation from your local SSA office. They can provide a breakdown showing exactly how the FMB was applied in your specific situation.
0 coins
Layla Sanders
•wait i thought disabled children wernt subject to the family maximum?? i read that somewhere i think. or maybe thats only if the child was disabled before 22?? so confused by all these rules!!
0 coins
Anna Stewart
•That's a common misconception. Disabled Adult Children (DAC) benefits ARE subject to the Family Maximum just like other auxiliary benefits. You might be thinking of SSI (Supplemental Security Income), which is a different program and isn't affected by the Family Maximum. As long as the disability began before age 22 (which appears to be the case here), the son qualifies as a DAC on the parent's record, but these benefits are still subject to the FMB limits.
0 coins
Morgan Washington
The whole benefits system is DESIGNED to be confusing and shortchange families! I went through something similar when my sister's disability benefits were cut because my dad started collecting. We never got a straight answer from anyone at SS and spent hours on hold only to be told different things by different agents. The whole system seems rigged to pay out as little as possible to families.
0 coins
Eleanor Foster
•It really does feel that way sometimes! Each time I've called, I get slightly different explanations. One rep told me it was because of the child-in-care provision, another mentioned the family maximum, and a third just said it was "policy" without further details. So frustrating!
0 coins
Kaylee Cook
I dealt with a similar situation last year. One thing that helped me was calling SSA directly to get a detailed breakdown of the Family Maximum calculation. However, I spent 3 weeks trying to reach someone who could actually explain it properly! I finally had success using Claimyr (claimyr.com) to get through to an SSA agent quickly. Their service connected me to SSA without the usual 2+ hour wait. Totally worth checking out their video demo (https://youtu.be/Z-BRbJw3puU) to see how it works. The agent I reached was able to provide a complete breakdown of how our family maximum was calculated and even found a small error in my son's benefit amount that was later corrected. Regarding your situation, I'd specifically ask for a "PEBES query" which shows the breakdowns of the PIA and family maximum calculations. Sometimes seeing the actual numbers helps make sense of why the benefits are lower than expected.
0 coins
Eleanor Foster
•Thank you! I hadn't heard of the PEBES query before - I'll definitely ask for that. And I appreciate the Claimyr suggestion. I've been trying to get through on the phone for days with no luck. It's worth trying something different at this point because I need actual answers, not more confusion.
0 coins
Oliver Alexander
•the claimyr thing really works i used it last month when my payments stopped suddenly. got through in 15 minutes instead of waiting all day!
0 coins
Lara Woods
So Im in a slightly different but similar situation with disabled adult son and understanding the family maximum. Husband can file in 2 years and I'm wondering if we should delay his filing to maximize benefits for our son. Does anyone know if delaying the primary earner's benefits affects how much the disabled adult child would get, or is DAC benefit always 50% of PIA regardless of when primary files?
0 coins
Lucas Turner
•Great question, and something the original poster might want to consider too. The DAC benefit is based on 50% of the worker's PIA if the worker is alive (75% if deceased). However, if multiple people are collecting on one record, the Family Maximum will still apply. The key difference with delaying is that when the primary worker delays claiming past Full Retirement Age, they earn Delayed Retirement Credits which increase their benefit above their PIA. Importantly, these Delayed Retirement Credits do NOT increase the Family Maximum, which remains based on the worker's PIA. However, if the primary worker is receiving more, that leaves less of the family maximum "pool" for others. If maximizing total family benefits is your goal, you'd need to calculate whether the increased benefit from delaying would outweigh the reduction to auxiliary benefits due to the family maximum. This is definitely a situation where professional advice might help, as the calculations can get quite complex.
0 coins
Kai Rivera
Whenever I call social security its a nightmare!!! waited 3 hours last time before I hung up. Anybody found a way to actually talk to a real person there without wasting your whole day??
0 coins
Kaylee Cook
•As I mentioned above, I had good results with Claimyr (claimyr.com). They got me through to an agent in about 10 minutes when I was dealing with my family maximum issue. They have a video that shows how it works: https://youtu.be/Z-BRbJw3puU Before that, I tried calling right when the office opened, calling different field offices, and even trying the 800 number at weird times like 4:30pm. Nothing worked until I tried this service.
0 coins
Eleanor Foster
Quick update after speaking with SSA (finally got through!): The agent confirmed that my husband's reduced benefit is counting against the Family Maximum, which is why our son's DAC benefit and my child-in-care spousal benefit are both reduced. The agent explained that the Family Maximum is approximately 175% of my husband's PIA in our case. Since he took retirement 2 years early, his benefit is reduced to about 87% of his PIA. This means our son and I are splitting the remaining portion of the maximum (about 88% of PIA), and it's being divided proportionally between us. I also learned that if I were to wait until my FRA to claim regular spousal benefits (not child-in-care), my benefit would increase, but our son's would decrease further to stay within the maximum. The whole system seems designed to keep families from receiving full benefits! Thank you all for your help in understanding this complex issue.
0 coins
Anna Stewart
•Thanks for sharing this update! Your situation perfectly illustrates how the Family Maximum works. The 175% figure is typical, and you've now seen firsthand how it impacts multiple beneficiaries. One thing to consider for the future: when you reach your own Full Retirement Age, you might want to run calculations on whether claiming on your own record might be more advantageous than the spousal benefit, especially given the FMB constraints. If you've had significant earnings, your own benefit might provide more than the restricted spousal benefit after the family maximum is applied. Best of luck with everything!
0 coins
Layla Sanders
•glad u figured it out! the system is way too complicated, even the agents get confused sometimes. my aunt got 3 different answers from 3 different people at ssa about her widows benefits!!
0 coins
Chloe Martin
I'm going through something very similar right now with my disabled daughter and the family maximum calculations. Your update was really helpful - it's frustrating how the system works against families who need the most support. One thing I discovered that might help you: some field offices have benefit counselors who specialize in disability cases and family maximum situations. They can sometimes provide clearer explanations than the general phone agents. You might want to ask specifically to speak with someone who handles DAC cases when you call. Also, make sure you keep detailed records of all your conversations with SSA, including the date, time, and agent name if possible. I've found that having this documentation helps when you get conflicting information from different representatives. The whole system definitely seems designed to minimize payouts to families, but at least now you understand why your benefits are lower than expected. Hang in there!
0 coins
Dmitry Ivanov
I'm also new to this community and unfortunately dealing with a similar family maximum situation. My wife is considering filing for early retirement at 63, and we have a 28-year-old son with disabilities who would qualify for DAC benefits. Reading through this entire thread has been incredibly eye-opening - I had no idea that her reduced early retirement benefit would count against the family maximum, leaving less available for our son's benefits. The lack of clear, consistent information from SSA that everyone has described here is really concerning. It seems like families are expected to navigate these complex calculations without proper guidance, and the permanent nature of these filing decisions makes it even more stressful. @Eleanor Foster - thank you for sharing your detailed experience and follow-up after speaking with SSA. That breakdown showing how the 175% family maximum gets divided when the primary worker takes early retirement is exactly the kind of specific information that's so hard to get from official sources. @Kaylee Cook - I'm definitely going to look into Claimyr to try to get through to an actual knowledgeable representative. The suggestion about requesting a PEBES query is something I hadn't heard of before but sounds crucial for understanding the actual numbers before making any irreversible decisions. This thread has convinced me that we need professional consultation before my wife files. The potential impact on our son's long-term financial security is too important to leave to guesswork or inconsistent information from SSA representatives.
0 coins
Mei Wong
•Welcome to the community! Your situation sounds very familiar - it's unfortunate how many families are discovering these family maximum impacts after the fact rather than being properly informed upfront. You're absolutely right to consider professional consultation before your wife files. The difference between filing at 63 versus waiting could be significant for your family's total benefits, especially with your son's DAC benefits in the picture. The fact that her reduced benefit will count against that 175% family maximum cap is such a crucial piece that really changes the whole calculation. I'd also suggest documenting everything when you do speak with SSA - dates, times, representative names, and exactly what they tell you about the calculations. Several people in this thread have mentioned getting different answers from different reps, so having a record helps if you need to follow up or clarify conflicting information. One thing that might help is asking specifically about the difference in total family benefits between filing at 63 versus waiting until her full retirement age. Getting those actual dollar amounts side-by-side could help inform your decision. The Claimyr service mentioned earlier really does seem to help people get through to knowledgeable reps more quickly than the regular phone lines. Best of luck navigating this - the complexity is overwhelming, but this community has shown that persistence in getting clear answers does eventually pay off!
0 coins
Myles Regis
I'm new to this community and unfortunately dealing with a very similar situation. My husband is 64 and just started collecting his reduced retirement benefits, and we're in the process of applying for benefits for our disabled 24-year-old daughter who has been disabled since birth. Reading through this entire thread has been incredibly enlightening - and honestly quite frustrating. Like so many others here, we had no idea that his reduced early retirement benefit would count against the family maximum, leaving significantly less available for auxiliary benefits. We were expecting our daughter's DAC benefit to be around 50% of his PIA, but now I understand why the estimates we're seeing are much lower. @Eleanor Foster - thank you so much for sharing your detailed experience and the follow-up after getting through to SSA. That breakdown of how the 175% family maximum gets divided really helps me understand what we're likely facing. The fact that your husband's 87% reduced benefit counts against the cap, leaving only 88% to split, is exactly the kind of concrete information that's impossible to get from SSA upfront. This thread has made it clear that we need to be much more proactive about getting written documentation of these calculations. I'm definitely going to request that PEBES query that was mentioned and try the Claimyr service to actually reach a knowledgeable representative. It's so frustrating that families have to become experts in these complex rules just to understand what we're entitled to, especially when caring for disabled family members already requires so much time and energy.
0 coins
Charlie Yang
Welcome to the community! I'm so sorry you're going through this frustrating situation - unfortunately, your experience sounds all too familiar to many of us here who have been blindsided by how the family maximum rules actually work in practice. You're absolutely right that the system seems designed to catch families off guard. The fact that your husband's reduced retirement benefit counts against that family maximum cap (rather than auxiliary benefits being calculated independently) is such a crucial detail that fundamentally changes the math, yet SSA rarely explains this clearly upfront. Since your husband has already filed, you're locked into this situation, but definitely push for that written breakdown of the calculations. When I finally got through to a knowledgeable rep (using the Claimyr service mentioned throughout this thread), they were able to provide a detailed computation showing exactly how our family maximum was calculated and applied. Having those actual numbers on paper made a huge difference in understanding our financial situation and planning accordingly. One thing to keep in mind - even though the benefits are lower than expected due to the family maximum, your daughter's DAC benefits will continue for life as long as she remains disabled, and they'll increase with annual cost-of-living adjustments (though as someone mentioned earlier, even those COLA increases get distributed proportionally when you're hitting the family cap). Hang in there - this system is unnecessarily complex, but this community has shown that persistence in getting clear answers eventually pays off!
0 coins
Malik Johnson
•Thank you for the warm welcome and the encouragement! It really does help to know that others have navigated this successfully, even though the process is so unnecessarily complicated. Your point about the DAC benefits continuing for life (with COLA adjustments) is actually really helpful to keep in mind for long-term planning. Even though the amounts are disappointing now due to the family maximum, having that ongoing financial support for our daughter's care will be valuable over time. I'm definitely going to try the Claimyr service - after reading about so many people's positive experiences with it in this thread, it seems like the best way to actually reach someone who can provide those detailed calculations. The regular SSA phone lines have been completely unhelpful so far. It's frustrating that we have to work so hard just to understand what should be straightforward benefit information, but I'm grateful for communities like this where people share real experiences and practical solutions. The collective knowledge here is honestly better than anything I've gotten from official sources! I'll definitely come back and share what I learn from the detailed computation once I'm able to get through to SSA. Information like that seems to be really valuable for other families facing similar situations.
0 coins
Kiara Fisherman
I'm new to this community but unfortunately very familiar with the frustration of navigating Social Security's family maximum rules. My husband filed for early retirement at 62, and we have a disabled adult son who qualifies for DAC benefits. Like so many others here, we were completely blindsided by how much the family maximum would reduce our son's benefits. What really strikes me about reading through everyone's experiences is how consistently SSA fails to explain these rules upfront. The fact that the primary worker's reduced early retirement benefit counts against the family maximum - leaving less for auxiliary beneficiaries - is such a fundamental aspect of the calculation, yet it's rarely mentioned during the application process. @Eleanor Foster - your detailed breakdown after speaking with SSA was incredibly helpful. That 175% family maximum divided between your husband's 87% reduced benefit and leaving 88% to split between you and your son really illustrates the math in a way that makes sense. It's frustrating that families have to work so hard to get this basic information! I ended up using the Claimyr service mentioned by several people here, and it was a game-changer for actually reaching a knowledgeable representative. The agent was able to provide a written computation breakdown that showed exactly how our family maximum was calculated - something I never would have gotten through the regular phone lines. For anyone still in the planning stages, I can't emphasize enough how important it is to understand these calculations BEFORE making any filing decisions. The irreversible nature of early retirement filing combined with the family maximum impacts can significantly affect your family's long-term financial security. This community's shared experiences and resources have been more valuable than anything I've gotten from official SSA sources!
0 coins
Mason Davis
•Welcome to the community! Your experience unfortunately echoes what so many of us have discovered - that the family maximum rules are poorly explained (if at all) during the application process, leaving families shocked by lower-than-expected benefits after it's too late to change course. I'm glad to hear that Claimyr worked well for you too! It's become such a valuable resource mentioned throughout this thread. Having that written computation breakdown makes all the difference in actually understanding what's happening with the calculations versus getting vague explanations from different representatives. Your point about the irreversible nature of early retirement filing is so crucial. Once that decision is made, families are locked into the family maximum implications for years to come. It really highlights the importance of getting professional guidance or at least very detailed SSA documentation before filing - something that shouldn't be necessary but clearly is given how complex these rules are. Thanks for sharing your experience with getting the written breakdown through Claimyr. Real examples like yours help other families know what to ask for and how to actually get the information they need. This community has definitely become an invaluable resource for navigating these challenges together!
0 coins
Paolo Ricci
I'm new to this community and unfortunately joining because I'm dealing with a very similar family maximum situation. My wife is 63 and we're trying to decide whether she should file for early retirement benefits now or wait, given that we have a 25-year-old disabled son who would qualify for DAC benefits. Reading through this entire thread has been both incredibly helpful and deeply concerning. The consistent theme of families being blindsided by how the family maximum actually works - with the primary worker's reduced benefit counting against the cap and leaving less for auxiliary beneficiaries - is exactly what we're worried about. @Eleanor Foster - thank you so much for sharing your detailed experience and that follow-up breakdown from SSA. Understanding that the 175% family maximum gets divided with your husband's 87% reduced benefit counting first, leaving only 88% to split between you and your son, really helps visualize the math. It's shocking that this crucial information isn't clearly explained upfront. @Kaylee Cook - I'm definitely going to try Claimyr to get through to an actual knowledgeable representative. The PEBES query suggestion seems essential for getting concrete numbers before making any irreversible decisions. This thread has convinced me that we absolutely need professional consultation before my wife files. The potential long-term impact on our son's financial security is too important to leave to SSA's inconsistent explanations. It's frustrating that families already dealing with disability care responsibilities have to become experts in these complex rules just to understand what we're entitled to, but this community's shared knowledge is invaluable. Thank you all for being so open about your experiences!
0 coins