Social Security Administration
CommunityGovernment Services


Ask the community...
Hi everyone, I'm at my wits' end trying to get Disabled Adult Child benefits for my daughter. She's 28 and has been receiving SSI since she was 3 years old. I filed the DAC application back in early October 2024 after I started collecting my own retirement benefits. The claims rep made it sound like this would be a straightforward process since she already has an established disability. It's been over 6 weeks now and I've heard absolutely nothing. To make matters worse, I can't even access her mySSA account anymore - it just gives an error message on both my phone and computer. Is this normal? How long should DAC applications take when the person is already getting SSI? And what's with the account access issue? Anyone else dealt with this?
I'm at my wits end dealing with my daughter's survivor benefits! She's 19, still in her senior year of high school, and receiving survivor benefits after her dad passed away three years ago. For some reason, SSA has been sending her payments via paper check, but now we're getting these threatening inserts with each check saying it's against federal law to receive paper checks and we MUST switch to direct deposit or their Direct Express card. The problem is she only has about 5-6 months left before she graduates and benefits stop. I finally managed to call the Direct Express people and they said setting up direct deposit takes 2-3 MONTHS to process in their system! I spent over 2 hours on hold with SSA yesterday before I had to hang up to pick up my other kids. Is it even worth going through this hassle for just a few remaining payments? Has anyone been in this situation? Did SSA actually enforce this paper check rule or am I panicking over nothing? I don't want her to lose her remaining benefits over something silly like the payment method!
I'm dealing with something similar right now with my stepson's benefits! The paper check warnings had me so stressed until I realized we only had about 4 months left too. After reading everyone's responses here, I feel much better about just continuing with the paper checks. It sounds like SSA has bigger fish to fry than chasing down families with only a few payments remaining. Emma, I think you're overthinking this - just keep depositing those checks and focus on making sure your daughter finishes strong in her senior year. The benefits will end soon enough anyway, and all this paperwork stress isn't worth it for such a short timeframe!
I just went through this exact situation with my son's survivor benefits last year! He was also 18 and in his senior year when we started getting those threatening paper check notices. I was panicking just like you are now. Here's what I learned: SSA has an internal guideline that they won't force payment method changes for beneficiaries with less than 6 months of eligibility remaining because it's not cost-effective for them to process. I called using that Claimyr service someone mentioned (totally worth it to skip the phone wait times!) and the representative confirmed this policy exists. They told me to just keep the threatening inserts as documentation that I received them, but that they wouldn't actually stop the payments. My son received every single paper check right up until graduation with no issues. Don't stress yourself out over this - focus on helping your daughter finish strong in school instead of fighting government bureaucracy over a few remaining payments!
This is exactly the kind of real-world experience I needed to hear! Thank you so much for sharing your story, Freya. It's such a relief to know that someone else went through the exact same situation and it worked out fine. I've been losing sleep over this for weeks, worrying that my daughter might lose her last few months of benefits over something as silly as the payment method. Your confirmation about the 6-month policy gives me so much peace of mind. I think I will check out that Claimyr service too - waiting on hold for hours with SSA is just not realistic with my schedule. I really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience!
Thank you Freya! Your experience is exactly what I needed to hear. I've been so worried about this for weeks, thinking we might lose those last few payments over a technicality. Knowing that someone else went through the identical situation and everything worked out fine gives me huge peace of mind. I'm definitely going to look into that Claimyr service - spending hours on hold with SSA just isn't feasible with my work schedule and three other kids. I really appreciate you sharing your story!
My husband has been receiving SSDI since June 2022 after his car accident. He's turning 65 this June and is feeling a bit better - not enough to work full-time, but he's going stir-crazy at home. He's wondering if he can take a part-time job at our friend's hardware store without messing up his disability benefits. I've heard different things - some people say once you hit 65, SSDI converts to regular Social Security retirement and different rules apply? We're really confused about what happens at 65 with disability benefits and work limits. Anyone been through this transition from SSDI to retirement age?
Thank you all for your helpful responses! I'm going to help my husband contact SSA directly to get clarity on his specific situation - especially about those Trial Work Period months he might have already used. It sounds like he can work part-time as long as he stays under the monthly SGA limit for now, and then different rules will apply once he converts to retirement benefits. I appreciate everyone's insights!
Good luck! And definitely try that Claimyr service I mentioned if you have trouble getting through to SSA. Saved me hours of frustration when dealing with my benefits questions.
Just wanted to add one more thing that might be helpful - make sure your husband keeps detailed records of any earnings if he does start working part-time. SSA can ask for documentation going back years, and having pay stubs, work schedules, and earnings records organized will save you both a lot of headaches if they ever do a review. I learned this the hard way when they did a work activity review on my benefits and I had to scramble to find old paperwork. Good luck with everything!
I need help figuring out how survivor benefits would work for my wife. Our situation is complicated: I'm 12 years older than my wife, and I've been the primary breadwinner throughout our 22-year marriage. My estimated SS benefit at full retirement age (67) is $4,100/month. Here's my scenario/question: If I claim at exactly my FRA, then pass away shortly after (let's say within the first year), and then my wife waits until HER full retirement age to claim survivor benefits—what exactly will she receive? Specifically, I'm confused about how COLAs work with survivor benefits in this situation: 1. Would she receive $4,100 (my original benefit amount) with NO COLA increases from the years between my death and her claim? OR 2. Would she receive $4,100 PLUS all the annual COLA increases that would have applied during those 12+ years if I had still been alive? For example, if we assume 2.3% average COLA over 12 years, the difference would be significant—either $4,100 vs. around $5,400 monthly. I'm trying to do long-term planning and this makes a huge difference for her future security. Our youngest child will still be a minor when I reach FRA, so I'm ignoring any delayed retirement credits past 67. No need to factor in any WEP/GPO issues. Just want to understand how survivor COLAs work in this specific situation. Thanks for any insights!
Thank you all for the helpful responses! Based on what everyone has shared, it sounds like my wife would indeed receive the higher amount with all COLAs applied, which is a huge relief for our long-term planning. Just to make sure I understand correctly: The base amount is my FRA benefit at death ($4,100), and then all the yearly COLAs between my death and when she claims at her FRA would be added to that amount. This makes a difference of over $1,300 monthly in our case, which is significant for her financial security. I appreciate everyone sharing their knowledge and personal experiences!
Just wanted to add another perspective as someone who works with retirees regularly. The COLA adjustments on survivor benefits are one of the most misunderstood aspects of Social Security planning, so you're smart to get clarity on this now. What you've learned here is correct - your wife will receive your $4,100 benefit PLUS all COLAs applied during the intervening years. This is actually one of the few areas where Social Security is more generous than people expect. One additional consideration for your planning: Since you mentioned having a minor child, remember that if something happens to you before your child reaches 18 (or 19 if still in high school), your wife could potentially receive a "mother's benefit" while caring for your child, even if she's under her own FRA. This benefit would also be based on your earnings record and could provide some income during those years before she's eligible for full survivor benefits. It's worth factoring this into your overall family financial planning, especially given the 12-year age gap you mentioned.
I'm currently receiving SSDI ($2,450/month) and will be converting to regular Social Security retirement benefits next year at the same payment amount. My wife is already receiving her retirement benefits ($1,750/month), and I know I might be eligible for a spousal top-up. What I'm confused about is how they'll calculate this spousal benefit. Will they base it on my actual SSDI payment amount that's converting to retirement benefits? Or would they calculate it based on what my benefit might have been if I hadn't become disabled and continued working until retirement age? I was making around $95,000 annually before disability, and I've been on SSDI for 6 years. I know even a few hundred dollars can make a huge difference for us monthly. Has anyone gone through this process?
BTW dont forget bout paying taxes on ur SS benifits if ur making other money too!! My brother got hit with a big tax bill cuz he didnt know his part time job would make his SS taxable!!
As someone who went through SSDI to retirement conversion recently, I can confirm what others have said - they absolutely base it on your actual benefit amount, not potential earnings. The system doesn't consider "what if" scenarios about continued work. Your situation sounds almost identical to mine - I was also getting around $2,400/month on SSDI when I converted. The good news is the conversion itself is seamless and automatic at Full Retirement Age. The potentially disappointing news (which you've already figured out) is that with your benefit being $2,450 and your wife's being $1,750, neither of you would qualify for spousal benefits since both your individual benefits exceed 50% of the other's. One thing I'd recommend is double-checking your wife's actual Primary Insurance Amount (PIA) rather than just her current payment, as there can sometimes be small differences due to early filing reductions or other factors. But based on the numbers you provided, it's unlikely to change the outcome. The conversion process itself was pretty straightforward for me - just make sure to verify everything looks correct in your MySocialSecurity account once it happens!
LunarLegend
I'm going through something similar right now! My daughter's DAC application has been pending for about 10 weeks. The mySSA account issue is definitely normal - ours went down around week 3 and came back around week 7, but now it shows her new benefit type even though we haven't gotten the approval letter yet. One thing that helped us was requesting a status update in writing through their online portal before the account went down. That way we had documentation of when we applied and could reference it when calling. Also, I found that calling right at 8am on Tuesday mornings seemed to get me through faster than other times. The waiting is brutal but from what I've read here and experienced myself, it sounds like 3-4 months is pretty standard even for "straightforward" cases. Hope you get good news soon!
0 coins
Mary's Towing
I filed June of 2024 im still waiting i just gave them a ton of paperwork and mailed it a few days ago im getting a lawyer that's the best avenue especially if they are messing around or if ur waiting for huge backpay that's why im getting. A lawyer for a huge backpay from years ago since my disability started before 22 I hope all goes well with you any updates?
0 coins