Social Security Administration
CommunityGovernment Services


Ask the community...
I finally started collecting my own Social Security retirement benefits last month at my full retirement age. My monthly payment is only $842 because I worked part-time for many years while raising our kids. My husband has been receiving his benefits since last year and gets $1895 per month at his FRA. I've heard about something called a "spousal top-up" or "spousal supplement" that could increase what I receive, but I'm confused about how it works. Do I just call SSA and apply? Do I need to bring any specific documents? Would I get 50% of his benefit instead of mine, or is it something else? I tried reading the SSA website but got lost in all the technical terms. Thanks for any help!
So confused about these spousal benefits! My husband is turning 67 next month (his FRA) and I'm 65. We've been trying to figure out the best strategy for claiming. His SS benefit will be around $2,100/month and mine would be about $1,900/month if I claim at my FRA. From what I understand, I'd get a spousal benefit if my benefit is less than 50% of his, but since my own benefit is pretty close to his (only $200 less), I don't think I'd get any spousal top-up, right? The SSA website is so confusing on this point! Does anyone know for sure if I'm understanding this correctly? Would I have to have a benefit that's less than $1,050 (50% of his) to get any spousal addition? I don't want to leave money on the table if I'm missing something!
One more thing to consider: if either of you worked in jobs not covered by Social Security (like some government positions), the WEP (Windfall Elimination Provision) or GPO (Government Pension Offset) might affect your benefits. These provisions can reduce benefits for people who receive pensions from non-SS-covered employment. Just mentioning it in case that applies to your situation.
Your understanding is correct! Since your benefit ($1,900) is higher than 50% of your husband's benefit ($1,050), you won't receive any spousal benefit top-up. You'll just get your own retirement benefit. This is actually a good problem to have - it means you both had strong earnings histories! The spousal benefit really only helps when someone has a much lower benefit or no work record. As others mentioned, you might want to explore strategies like having your husband delay until 70 to maximize survivor benefits, since that could provide you with a higher monthly amount if you outlive him.
This is a complex situation with concurrent benefits, and it sounds like you're being very proactive! A few thoughts that might help: 1. For the immediate rental agreement issue - consider if you can structure it so the rent amount works with the reduced SSI payment initially, then adjust once DAC payments begin. Some landlords are understanding about benefit timing. 2. During your 9/3 appointment about fair share expenses, make sure to document everything your son will be paying for (rent, utilities, food, etc.). The more expenses he can legitimately claim as his fair share, the less the ISM reduction will impact his SSI. 3. Since DAC is retroactive to 6/1/25, there should be a catch-up payment once it's processed. You might want to ask SSA about the timeline for DAC processing during your 9/3 call. 4. Keep detailed records of all expenses and the rental agreement for the fair share calculation. This will be crucial for maintaining his SSI eligibility. 5. Consider consulting with a disability benefits attorney if things get too complex - many offer free consultations for SSI/SSDI cases. You're doing great advocating for your son! The fact that you're planning ahead for when his father retires shows excellent long-term thinking about preserving his Medicaid eligibility.
I'm at my wit's end with SSA and need advice on next steps. My husband's Social Security benefit is $3,450/month, while mine is only $1,220/month. According to everything I've read, I should be eligible for a spousal benefit top-up since my benefit is less than half of his (which would be $1,725), and we're both past our Full Retirement Age. I've called SSA multiple times, visited the local office twice, and submitted all requested documentation. Every time they give me a different excuse! First they said I needed to file a separate application (which I did), then they claimed I wasn't eligible without explaining why. Finally got frustrated enough to contact my Senator's office to file a Congressional Inquiry. Got their response today and I'm furious - they completely ignored my actual question about the spousal top-up! Just listed my current benefit amount ($1,220) and my COLA increase for next year. They even claimed they "couldn't locate the letters in my file" that I referenced - WHICH I HAVE PHYSICALLY ON MY DESK RIGHT NOW! I feel like I'm taking crazy pills. What options do I have after a Congressional Inquiry fails? Is there any level above this I can appeal to? Has anyone successfully fought SSA on spousal benefit issues?
Based on everything you've shared, here's a step-by-step plan that combines the best advice from this thread: 1. Call SSA using Claimyr (to avoid the wait) and request BOTH the formal written denial explanation AND the specific calculation worksheets mentioned (PEBES/SSNBF and spousal benefit worksheet) 2. Return to your Senator's office with copies of all your documentation AND the information you receive from step 1, requesting a senior caseworker who specializes in federal benefits 3. Simultaneously contact your House Representative to open a second Congressional inquiry with the specific questions you want answered 4. Contact your local AARP chapter for additional advocacy support 5. If all else fails within 30 days, consider contacting the SSA Inspector General's office The key is to pursue multiple avenues simultaneously while gathering the specific documentation needed for a formal appeal. Remember that the squeaky wheel gets the grease in these situations!
Thank you so much for this comprehensive plan! I really appreciate you taking the time to put together these steps. This gives me a clear roadmap to follow instead of feeling like I'm just flailing around. I'll start with step 1 tomorrow morning and work my way through the list. Will update this thread if I make any progress!
I went through something very similar about 6 months ago, and what finally broke the logjam was getting a referral to a Social Security disability attorney who also handles retirement benefit disputes. I know it sounds expensive, but many of them work on contingency for these cases - they only get paid if they recover additional benefits for you. The attorney I worked with had direct contacts within SSA and knew exactly which forms to file and which specific regulations to cite. Within 3 weeks of hiring them, I had my spousal benefit corrected and received a lump sum payment for the months I should have been receiving it. If you're interested, I can share the name of the firm I used (they handle cases nationwide). Sometimes having professional representation is what it takes to get SSA to take your case seriously instead of just giving you the runaround. Also, document EVERYTHING from here forward - dates, times, names of representatives you speak with, reference numbers. This documentation becomes crucial if you do end up needing to pursue formal appeals or legal action.
I'm frustrated and confused about my recent interaction with SSA regarding spousal benefits. I called about applying for the spousal top-off benefit since my husband receives significantly more than I do. The agent confirmed I was eligible for the spousal benefit and then went through some standard questions about SSI (Supplemental Security Income). I knew I wasn't eligible for SSI due to our assets and income, and told her so. She confirmed I wasn't eligible for SSI but said they couldn't schedule an appointment for my spousal benefit application because none were available. She said I'd receive a letter with an appointment date/time. Yesterday I received a letter stating I'm not eligible for SSI (which I already knew). There was nothing about the spousal benefit appointment I was supposed to receive. Do I need to call SSA again specifically about the spousal top-off appointment? Or should I still expect another letter about that? I'm worried my actual spousal benefit application got lost in the shuffle because of the SSI screening. Has anyone dealt with this before?
One more thing to understand: The "top-off" spousal benefit (getting the difference between your benefit and half of your spouse's) requires that your spouse is already receiving their retirement benefit. If your spouse is only receiving SSDI but hasn't converted to retirement benefits yet, that might cause confusion in the application process. Just something to check if the representative seems confused about your eligibility when you call back.
I'm dealing with something similar right now! Applied for spousal benefits two weeks ago, went through the whole SSI screening even though I clearly stated we have too much in assets to qualify. The rep said I'd get a letter about scheduling my spousal benefit appointment, but so far I've only received the predictable SSI denial letter. Reading through everyone's experiences here, it sounds like I need to be more proactive about following up rather than waiting around. It's frustrating that this seems to be such a common issue - you'd think they could streamline the process better so people don't fall through the cracks between different benefit programs.
Mateo Hernandez
Good to know, thank you! I'll try to get an in-person appointment then.
0 coins
Fatima Al-Suwaidi
I went through this exact same situation about 8 months ago! Just wanted to add that when you call or visit SSA, it really helps to have your marriage certificate handy too - they asked me for it even though we've been married 35 years. Also, don't be surprised if the first person you talk to isn't familiar with spousal benefits - I had to explain what I was looking for to two different representatives before getting transferred to someone who knew the process. The whole thing took about 6 weeks from application to seeing the increased payment, but it was definitely worth the hassle. My monthly benefit went from $756 to $1,124, so hang in there!
0 coins