

Ask the community...
My husband faced the same question last year. Just want to add that when you apply online they actually help walk you through picking the right start date. The system asks when you want your benefits to begin and has information explaining how benefits are paid for each month. Super straightforward process once you get there!
Just went through this exact situation last year! The key thing to remember is that Social Security benefits are calculated and paid by full months, not by specific dates. Since you reached FRA on July 18, 2024, if you want to work exactly one additional year, you should apply for benefits to start on August 1, 2025. This ensures you get full delayed retirement credit for July 2025. The application process is actually pretty user-friendly online - they walk you through selecting the right start date. I'd recommend applying about 3 months ahead of time (around May 2025) to avoid any processing delays. You'll get that nice 8% annual boost for each year you delay past FRA!
I want to add something important that hasn't been mentioned yet - make sure to ask SSA about whether your state has any additional caregiver support programs that might complement your federal benefits. Some states have respite care programs or caregiver stipends that can help with expenses. Also, when you go to your appointment, bring a list of all your son's medications, therapies, and medical equipment needs. This helps demonstrate the level of care required and strengthens your case for mother's benefits. I learned this the hard way when they initially questioned how much care my disabled daughter actually needed. One more tip: if possible, try to get your appointment scheduled with a disability specialist rather than a general claims representative. They tend to be more knowledgeable about DAC and caregiver benefit rules. You can specifically request this when you call to schedule. You're doing an amazing job caring for your son while working part-time. Don't let anyone make you feel like you're asking for too much - these benefits exist for exactly your situation!
This is excellent advice about state programs and requesting a disability specialist! I hadn't thought about asking for a specific type of representative, but that makes so much sense given how complex these DAC and caregiver benefit rules can be. I'll definitely compile that detailed list of my son's medications, therapies, and equipment - we have quite a few medical appointments and daily care routines that I can document. Thank you for mentioning state programs too - I'll research what might be available in our area to supplement the federal benefits. It's so helpful to hear from other caregivers who understand this situation!
I'm a case worker who has helped families navigate these exact situations, and I want to emphasize a few crucial points that will help ensure your application goes smoothly: 1. **Timing is critical** - Apply for Mother's benefits in the month your daughter's benefits end, not before. SSA can't approve the application until you meet all eligibility requirements, which includes no longer having a child under 16 receiving benefits on the same record. 2. **Bring comprehensive documentation** - Along with medical records, bring a detailed letter from your son's doctor explaining his specific care needs and why he requires a full-time caregiver. This carries more weight than just listing his diagnosis. 3. **Know the exact terminology** - When you call or visit, specifically ask for "Mother's Benefits under Section 202(g) of the Social Security Act as the parent caring for a disabled adult child." Using the exact legal reference helps ensure you get connected to someone who understands these specialized benefits. 4. **Prepare for potential pushback** - Unfortunately, some SSA representatives aren't familiar with these benefits. If someone tells you they don't exist or you don't qualify, politely ask to speak with a supervisor or disability specialist. These benefits are absolutely real and you have every right to apply. Your situation is exactly what these benefits were designed for. Stay persistent and don't give up if you encounter initial resistance!
I'm dealing with something very similar right now! My SSDI converted to retirement benefits in January and I just got a notice that my monthly amount should be $18 higher. When I called about backpay, the representative told me the same thing about "small amounts" not being eligible for retroactive payment. Reading through these responses has been so helpful - especially learning about requesting a "Claims Specialist" and using the term "AERO recalculation underpayment." I had no idea there were specific terms that might help get through to someone who actually understands these issues. Has anyone else noticed if the timing of when you call makes a difference? I've been trying to call first thing in the morning but still getting those long wait times everyone mentioned.
Welcome to the club! It's frustrating how many of us are dealing with the same issue. From what I've read in other forums, early morning (right when they open at 8am) or late afternoon (around 4pm) seem to have slightly better success rates for getting through. Some people also suggest calling on Tuesday-Thursday since Mondays and Fridays tend to be busier. I'd definitely try the specific terminology that Sydney Torres mentioned - asking for a "Claims Specialist" and mentioning "AERO recalculation underpayment." It sounds like having the right language really helps get past the initial representatives who might not be familiar with these types of issues. Good luck with your $18 - every dollar counts and it's definitely worth pursuing!
I'm going through almost the exact same situation right now! My SSDI converted to retirement benefits last month and I just discovered they've been underpaying me by $31 monthly for the past 4 months. When I called, the first representative told me there was a "$50 minimum" for backpay (which sounds completely made up based on what Sydney Torres shared about processing $1.40 underpayments!). What really helped me was calling back and specifically asking to speak with a "Claims Specialist" like Sydney suggested. The second person I talked to was much more knowledgeable and actually initiated an underpayment review on the spot. She explained that my part-time work while on SSDI had increased my benefit calculation when it converted to retirement, which is exactly what happened to you. For anyone else dealing with this - don't give up after the first phone call! The representatives seem to have very different levels of knowledge about these conversion issues. I'm still waiting to hear back about my backpay, but at least I have a case number now and someone who understood what I was talking about. Also, calling right at 8am when they open seemed to work better than afternoons - I got through in about 45 minutes instead of the 2+ hours I was waiting later in the day.
This is really encouraging to hear! It's so frustrating that we have to call multiple times just to find someone who knows what they're doing. The fact that you got a case number is a great sign - at least now there's a paper trail of your request. Your experience with the "$50 minimum" claim really confirms what Sydney Torres said about representatives making up policies. It seems like there's a real training issue at SSA where the frontline staff don't understand these AERO recalculation situations. I'm definitely going to try the 8am calling strategy. Did the Claims Specialist you spoke with give you any timeline for when you might hear back about the underpayment review? I'm curious how long these typically take to process. Thanks for sharing your experience - it's helpful to know that persistence pays off with these situations!
Romeo, this is exactly the kind of success story I needed to hear! The fact that you got through to someone who actually understood AERO recalculations and initiated the review immediately gives me hope. I'm definitely going to try calling right at 8am tomorrow and ask specifically for a Claims Specialist. It's really frustrating how inconsistent the information is from different representatives - first you're told about a "$50 minimum" that doesn't exist, then the next person knows exactly what to do. It really does seem like there's a major training gap for these conversion situations. Did the Claims Specialist mention anything about how long the underpayment review typically takes? I'm hoping to get this resolved before I hit that 60-day deadline Sydney Torres mentioned. Having a case number to reference definitely sounds like a step in the right direction! Thanks for sharing your experience - it's really helpful to know that persistence and the right terminology can make such a difference.
I went through this exact situation last year! My husband's spousal benefit didn't update automatically when my PIA increased either. Here's what worked for me: Call SSA and ask to speak with a claims specialist (not just the general customer service rep). Tell them you need a "manual recomputation of auxiliary benefits due to updated worker PIA." I had to be very specific about this language. Also, make sure you have your benefit verification letter showing your new PIA amount ready when you call - they'll likely ask for the exact numbers. In my case, it took about 3 weeks after that call for my husband's payment to reflect the increase, and he got back pay for the months it should have been higher. Don't let them tell you it's automatic - sometimes it is, but clearly yours isn't updating on its own. You're absolutely entitled to have his benefit recalculated based on your higher PIA.
This is exactly the kind of detailed advice I was hoping for! Thank you so much for sharing your experience. I'm definitely going to ask specifically for a claims specialist and use that exact wording about "manual recomputation of auxiliary benefits." It's reassuring to know that you got back pay for the months it should have been higher - I was worried about losing those payments forever. I have my benefit verification letter ready to go, so I'll call them tomorrow morning. Really appreciate you taking the time to explain the whole process!
As someone new to navigating Social Security benefits, this thread has been incredibly educational! I'm not quite at retirement age yet, but my parents are dealing with similar issues and I've been trying to help them understand their benefits. From what I'm reading here, it seems like the key takeaway is that when a worker's actual PIA increases (not just from DRCs), the spouse's benefit should automatically recalculate to 50% of that new PIA amount. But the "automatic" part clearly doesn't always work as intended! Jessica's advice about asking for a "claims specialist" and using specific terminology like "manual recomputation of auxiliary benefits due to updated worker PIA" sounds like the most actionable approach. It's frustrating that you have to know the exact bureaucratic language to get proper service, but that seems to be reality with SSA. Lauren, I hope you get this resolved quickly! Please update us on how the call goes - this information could help other community members facing the same situation.
Thanks for summarizing everything so clearly! As another newcomer to this community, I really appreciate how everyone has shared their experiences and specific advice. It's eye-opening to see how complex these benefit calculations can be and how the "automatic" systems don't always work as expected. Jessica's step-by-step approach with the exact terminology seems like the best path forward. I'll definitely bookmark this thread for future reference - the knowledge shared here is invaluable for anyone dealing with Social Security benefits. Looking forward to hearing how Lauren's call goes too!
Dmitry Ivanov
I'm in a very similar situation! I'm also a widow receiving child-in-care benefits for my disabled adult son who became disabled at age 19. I turned 63 last year and chose to stay on the child-in-care benefits rather than switch to survivor benefits, specifically because of the earnings limit issue. One thing that really helped me was requesting a benefit estimate comparison from SSA showing what I'd receive under each option. They can calculate your survivor benefit amount at 62 (reduced) versus your current child-in-care benefit amount, and factor in how the earnings limit would affect you based on your expected income. Also, don't forget that if you do switch to survivor benefits at 62, you can always switch back to your own retirement benefits later if that becomes more advantageous. But you can't undo the permanent reduction from taking survivor benefits early. I ended up staying on child-in-care benefits and now work part-time without any earnings restrictions. It's been a huge relief not having to worry about calculating earnings limits every month!
0 coins
Natasha Ivanova
•This is incredibly helpful to hear from someone who's actually been through this decision! The benefit estimate comparison sounds like exactly what I need to make an informed choice. Did you have to request that in writing or were they able to provide it over the phone? I'm so relieved to know that staying on child-in-care benefits worked out well for you - it sounds like that might be the best path for me too since I really want the flexibility to work without constantly worrying about earnings limits.
0 coins
Ava Garcia
As someone who works with Social Security disability cases, I want to emphasize something that hasn't been mentioned yet - make sure you document your caregiving role thoroughly. SSA may periodically review whether you're still providing "care" for your disabled adult daughter, especially as she gets older. Keep records of medical appointments you attend with her, assistance you provide with daily activities, financial management, etc. This documentation becomes crucial if SSA ever questions your eligibility for child-in-care benefits. Also, if you do decide to work, consider how your work schedule might affect your ability to provide care. SSA defines "care" pretty broadly, but they want to see that you're still actively involved in her daily needs, not just living in the same household. The flexibility of child-in-care benefits with no earnings limit is definitely valuable, but just make sure you can demonstrate ongoing caregiving if SSA asks.
0 coins