Social Security Administration
CommunityGovernment Services


Ask the community...
I'm in complete shock right now. My son just received several notices from Social Security saying he owes back $10,700 in overpayments! Apparently, they're claiming his mother (my ex-wife) had medical improvement and was no longer considered disabled as of April 2023, so he shouldn't have received any auxiliary benefits from April 2023 through May 2024. Here's the situation - my son turned 18 in September 2023 but continued receiving benefits because he was still in high school until May 2024 (when he graduated). The payments automatically stopped after graduation, which seemed normal. Now FIVE MONTHS LATER, they're saying he was never entitled to any of those payments! What's bizarre is that all the letters are addressed only to my son, not to me, even though he was a minor for part of this period. Is this because he's over 18 now? Also, how can they possibly hold a STUDENT responsible for THEIR mistake in continuing to send payments? My ex-wife hasn't been involved in his life for over 12 years, and we had no idea her medical status had changed. I submitted the waiver form (SSA-632) back in December explaining why he shouldn't be responsible, but haven't heard anything. Now he's worried they'll garnish his wages from his new part-time campus job that he needs for books and food while he's attending community college full-time. Can they really come after a college student for their own administrative error? What options do we have here? Any advice would be GREATLY appreciated.
I've been on SSDI for about three years due to my chronic condition. Recently started working part-time (15 hours/week) at a company that offers PTO benefits. I'm VERY careful to stay under the SGA limit ($1,550/month for 2025), but I just realized I have about 30 hours of PTO accumulated. My question is: if I take those PTO hours, do they count toward my monthly earnings for SGA purposes? My regular job hours already put me at about $1,200/month, and using all my PTO hours at once would definitely push me over the limit for that month. I don't want to risk my benefits by making a mistake! Has anyone dealt with this situation before?
Has anyone used the Ticket to Work program? My vocational counselor keeps suggesting it but im not sure if its a trap to get me off benefits.
Ticket to Work is actually a legitimate and helpful program for many people. It's designed to help SSDI/SSI recipients return to work gradually with support, while providing some protections for your benefits. The biggest advantage is that you won't receive medical Continuing Disability Reviews while participating in the program. It's voluntary and you can stop at any time. Worth looking into if you're considering increasing your work hours eventually.
As someone who's been navigating SSDI work rules for a while, I wanted to add that it's also worth keeping track of your "substantial work" months versus your Trial Work Period months. TWP months are any month you earn over $1,040 (for 2025), while substantial work is earning over the SGA limit of $1,550. You can have up to 9 TWP months total, but going over SGA repeatedly is what actually triggers benefit termination. So even if your PTO pushes you over $1,040 in a month, it might count as a TWP month but not necessarily threaten your benefits if you stay under $1,550. The distinction is important for long-term planning!
I'm totally confused about my husband's spousal benefits after the recent WEP/GPO changes from the Social Security Fairness Act. We're both in our 70s and waited until our Full Retirement Ages to claim. My husband worked 32 years as a public school teacher with a pension, and I've worked in the private sector for over 50 years paying into Social Security. When he applied for spousal benefits last month (for the first time because of the new legislation), the amount they calculated is WAY lower than what we expected. I thought he should receive 50% of my benefit minus Medicare premiums and taxes, but the actual figure they gave us isn't even close to that. Has anyone else gone through this process with the new WEP/GPO changes? What formula is SSA actually using now? The representative we spoke with couldn't explain it clearly, and I feel like we're missing something important about how this is supposed to work.
The law won't be fully phased in until 2026, so no one has received the full benefit yet. Even then, remember that the spousal benefit is still subject to the standard offset rules - it's not automatically 50% of your spouse's benefit if you have your own retirement benefit too. The WEP/GPO elimination just means your pension won't reduce your SS benefits anymore.
I'm going through this exact same situation with my wife who was a state employee for 30 years! We applied for her spousal benefits in January and got a number that made no sense to us either. After reading all these responses, I think I understand better now - we weren't aware of the phased implementation at all. The SSA representative we spoke with just said "this is what you qualify for" without any explanation of the transition period or how they calculated it. I'm definitely going to request that detailed benefit calculation that several people mentioned here. It's frustrating that they don't automatically provide this breakdown when the rules are so complex during this transition period. Thanks to everyone who shared their experiences and explanations - this thread has been more helpful than our actual conversation with SSA!
I'm completely puzzled by a recent call from Social Security. My daughter received child's benefits on my husband's record (he did file and suspend when he hit 65). Her benefits ended June 2023 after she graduated high school - all normal and expected. Now here's where I'm confused. I just started collecting my own Social Security in March 2024 (took the 6-month retroactive lump sum option). Out of nowhere, SSA contacted me saying my daughter might be entitled to additional benefits based on MY record now. When I called them back, they said we need to submit Form 1372, which requires her high school to certify her attendance. But she's been OUT of high school for almost a year now! She graduated! How can she possibly need school attendance verification? I'm torn between just ignoring this (they reached out to me, not the other way around) and potentially leaving money on the table. But seriously - why would she qualify for additional payments for a period AFTER she already graduated high school? The whole thing sounds fishy but it was actually SSA who contacted me. Has anyone dealt with this kind of situation before? Is this some weird rule I don't understand or just a mistake on SSA's part?
Update: I called my daughter's high school and they were super helpful! Turns out they get these requests all the time. I just need to bring the form to the main office with her student ID number, and they'll complete it on the spot. Going to do that tomorrow and then submit it to SSA. Thank you all for convincing me to follow through with this. Will post another update when I find out how much additional benefit she's entitled to!
This is such a great example of why it's worth following up on these SSA contacts even when they seem confusing! I had a similar situation with my son where I almost ignored a letter from SSA because it seemed like a mistake. Turns out they owed us over $1,800 in back benefits I never knew we were entitled to. The paperwork was a pain, but totally worth it. Good luck with the school visit tomorrow - sounds like you're all set!
I just received my SS award letter stating my first retirement benefit payment will arrive on March 3rd, 2025. I'm really confused because I was under the impression that Social Security retirement payments are delivered on the second Wednesday of each month based on your birth date (mine is the 15th). Is this a mistake in my letter, or has SSA changed their payment schedule? I don't want to miss my first payment or have issues with my direct deposit setup. Has anyone else noticed changes to the payment schedule recently?
I'm jealous you get the 3rd! It comes earlier than my payment on the 4th Wednesday. I have to budget really carefully at the end of each month. ๐ฉ
Just wanted to add that if you're ever unsure about your payment date in the future, you can also check the SSA payment calendar they publish online each year. It shows all the payment dates for the entire year, including adjustments for holidays and weekends. Really helps with budgeting and planning ahead! Also, most banks will show pending deposits a day or two before they actually hit your account, so you can usually see it coming even if there are slight delays.
Nia Wilson
A critical factor here is whether your son continued to be eligible for benefits as a student after turning 18. Based on your timeline, it sounds like he did qualify under the "full-time student" provisions that allow benefits to continue until graduation or age 19 (whichever comes first). If the sole reason for the overpayment is his mother's medical improvement, and not any issue with his student status, then your waiver argument should focus heavily on the fact that he had no way of knowing about his mother's changed medical status - especially given that she hasn't been involved in his life. The technical term for what you want to emphasize is that he was "without fault" in causing the overpayment. The SSA's own policy states that individuals are without fault when: "The overpaid individual relied on information from SSA that turned out to be incorrect." Since SSA continued sending the payments, this should apply to your son's situation.
0 coins
Sean Flanagan
AuthorYes, that's exactly right - he remained eligible as a student, and the ONLY reason they're claiming overpayment is because of his mother's medical improvement that we knew nothing about. I'll definitely use that specific language about being "without fault" and relying on incorrect information from SSA. That describes our situation perfectly.
0 coins
GalaxyGuardian
I'm a social worker who helps families navigate SSA issues, and I want to emphasize something important that hasn't been fully addressed yet - the timing of when your son turned 18 versus when the overpayment period began. Since your son was still a minor in April 2023 when the overpayment allegedly started, there's a strong argument that he cannot be held responsible for payments made while he was under 18. Minors have legal protections specifically because they cannot be expected to understand complex benefit rules or monitor their parents' medical status. I'd recommend adding this to your waiver documentation: highlight that he was 17 years old when the overpayment began and had no legal capacity to understand or act on information about his mother's disability status even if he had somehow received it. Also, make sure to document his current financial situation thoroughly - full-time student status, part-time income, basic living expenses. SSA considers educational expenses as legitimate financial hardship factors. Include documentation of tuition, books, transportation, and any other school-related costs. The fact that you're helping with some expenses actually strengthens the hardship argument rather than weakening it - it shows his income alone isn't sufficient to cover basic needs, let alone an $8,000+ debt.
0 coins