Social Security Administration
CommunityGovernment Services


Ask the community...
I just retired last month and filed for my Social Security retirement benefits. My first regular monthly check is supposed to arrive at the end of January. But yesterday, I noticed a random $80 deposit from SSA in my bank account! What's really strange is my husband (who also just started SS retirement) got an extra $80 payment too. These weren't our full benefit amounts - just these small identical payments. Has anyone else experienced this? Could it be some kind of adjustment or special payment? I tried calling the SS 800 number but gave up after being on hold for 40 minutes. I don't want to accidentally spend money if it's a mistake they'll want back!
Just got diagnosed with a degenerative condition and started receiving SSDI benefits 4 months ago. I'm 63 years old and adjusting to this new reality. My ex-wife from a long marriage (we were together for 18 years before divorcing in 2012) called me yesterday saying she's struggling financially and plans to file for benefits based on my work record. This has me worried about two things: 1) Is she even eligible to claim against my disability benefits? We've been divorced for over 10 years now. 2) If she can claim, will that reduce my monthly SSDI payment? I'm barely making ends meet with what I receive now ($2,410/month) and honestly can't afford any reduction. Does anyone know how this works with ex-spouses and SSDI?
One additional piece of info that might help - if your ex-wife remarried at any point after your divorce, she wouldn't be eligible for benefits on your record UNLESS that marriage also ended (by death, divorce, or annulment). This is something people often misunderstand about ex-spouse benefits. And if she's currently married to someone else, she definitely can't claim on your record.
I'm dealing with a similar situation right now - my ex-husband is on SSDI and I'm trying to understand my options. Reading through all these responses has been really helpful! Just want to add that when I spoke with SSA last week, they confirmed that the ex-spouse benefit is actually calculated as 50% of the primary beneficiary's full retirement age benefit amount (before any early filing reductions). So even though your ex-wife might face reductions for filing early, the base calculation starts from your full benefit rate. Also, one thing I learned is that if she's worked enough quarters on her own, SSA will automatically pay whichever benefit is higher - her own or the spousal benefit - but never both. The whole process seems pretty straightforward once you understand the rules, but I agree with others that it's odd she's discussing this with you beforehand.
I recently retired early at 63 and had some final commission payments coming from my employer. My HR department told me I need to file the SSA-131 (special payments after retirement form) so these commissions don't count against my earnings limit. I mailed the form last week with return receipt, but I'm wondering if there's any way to confirm the SSA actually received and processed it? Will this show up somewhere in my messages or account status on the MySocialSecurity portal? I don't want to find out months later that they never got it and I end up with a benefit reduction or overpayment notice. Has anyone gone through this process recently?
my neighbor tried to do all this but gav up and just waited til full retirement age. to much trouble lol.
I'm in a similar boat - just submitted my SSA-131 last month after getting a final sales commission check. Based on what everyone's saying here, it sounds like the key is just being patient and following up by phone if needed. I'm keeping detailed records of everything including screenshots of my MySocialSecurity account before and after, plus copies of all the paperwork. It's frustrating that such an important form has zero online tracking, but at least we're not alone in this! Thanks everyone for sharing your experiences - this has been really helpful to read through.
My wife lost her job in February due to downsizing, and with it went her employer life insurance policy. This has me seriously worried about our family's financial security if something happens to her. Her grandmother actually passed away when her dad was only 5, with no financial planning, which left their family struggling for years. I do have a small term life policy on her ($250,000), but I'm trying to understand how Social Security survivor benefits would work for our 3 children (all under 16). My wife has worked consistently for 22 years and has all her credits and would likely be close to maximum SS benefits at her full retirement age. My specific questions: 1. Would each of our 3 minor children receive an equal portion of her survivor benefits? 2. What happens when my oldest turns 18 in two years? Do the remaining two kids get more, or does that portion just disappear? 3. Is there a maximum family benefit cap I should know about? I'm trying to calculate if we need to increase her term life policy amount based on how these benefits work. Any insights from those who unfortunately have experience with this would be greatly appreciated.
I went through this exact situation when my husband passed away in 2019, leaving me with two young children (ages 8 and 12 at the time). Here's what I learned from experience: The family maximum benefit is indeed the key factor - in our case, it was about 175% of my husband's PIA. Each child received roughly 58% of his benefit amount instead of the theoretical 75% maximum because we hit that family cap. When my older child turned 18 last year, the younger one's benefit DID increase, but only slightly - from about $1,850 to $2,100 per month. The family maximum still applies even with fewer recipients. One thing I wish I had known earlier: if you're caring for children under 16, you can receive spousal survivor benefits too (up to 75% of her PIA), but these also count toward the family maximum. So with you and 3 kids, you'd definitely be hitting that cap. My advice: definitely increase that life insurance policy significantly. At $85k income, you'll want at least $850k-$1M in coverage. The SS benefits help with basic needs, but they won't maintain your current standard of living. Also, create that my Social Security account ASAP to get her exact benefit estimates - it's free and gives you the real numbers to work with for planning.
I'm really sorry you're having to plan for such a difficult scenario. As someone who works in financial planning, I want to emphasize a few practical steps you can take right now: First, definitely create that my Social Security account for your wife at ssa.gov - it's free and will give you her actual benefit estimates rather than guessing. This is crucial for accurate planning. Second, when shopping for additional life insurance, consider getting quotes from multiple carriers. At 22 years of work history and presumably good health, your wife should qualify for competitive rates. Don't just focus on the premium cost - look at the financial strength ratings of the insurance companies too. One thing I haven't seen mentioned is that survivor benefits are tax-free, while your wife's current income is taxable. So when calculating replacement needs, factor in that the after-tax impact of her $85k salary is probably closer to $65k-70k depending on your tax situation. Also consider that if something happened to your wife, you'd likely have some one-time expenses (funeral, etc.) plus ongoing childcare costs if you're working full-time. These aren't covered by Social Security but would come out of the life insurance proceeds. Given all the variables with the family maximum benefit, I'd lean toward the higher end of coverage recommendations - probably $1M+ in term life insurance to ensure your family maintains financial stability.
This is really comprehensive advice - thank you! I hadn't thought about the tax-free aspect of survivor benefits versus the taxable nature of her current income. That's a good point that could actually make the benefits more valuable than I was calculating. The funeral and childcare expense considerations are also things I need to factor in. You're absolutely right about shopping multiple carriers too. With three kids and wanting to make sure we're fully covered, going with $1M+ in term coverage seems like the prudent approach. I really appreciate everyone in this community sharing both the technical details and real-world experiences - it's helping me understand this complex topic much better than I could have on my own.
I'm at my wit's end trying to understand how our family's Social Security benefits were calculated. My husband started his retirement benefits in May 2025 at his Full Retirement Age. I'm 65 and also started my own retirement benefits that same month. We also have an adult disabled child (since childhood) who qualifies for benefits on my husband's record. Here's what's confusing me: SSA divided the "remaining family benefit" 50/50 between me and our adult disabled child. They told me I don't qualify for any spousal benefits because my own benefit is more than my portion of this "remaining family benefit." But my own benefit is definitely less than 50% of my husband's PIA! Do they determine spousal eligibility AFTER they've divided up the family maximum? Or should they first check if I'm eligible for the spousal top-up (difference between my benefit and 50% of husband's PIA), and THEN apply family maximum reductions? Also, does anyone know if my status as caregiver for our disabled adult child affects any of this? I've heard about "Child in Care" benefits but don't know if that applies in our situation since I'm already 65. Any help sorting this out would be so appreciated. The SSA rep I spoke with couldn't explain why my benefits worked out this way.
I had a very similar situation with my own family about two years ago. What helped me was getting a written explanation of their calculation methodology from SSA. When I compared it to the official POMS manual online (particularly sections GN 00615.060 and RS 00615.742), I found discrepancies in how they applied the family maximum. The key issue in your case seems to be the order of operations. They should determine your spousal benefit eligibility FIRST (comparing your benefit to 50% of husband's PIA), then apply any family maximum reductions. It sounds like they're doing it backwards - dividing up the family maximum first, then seeing what's left for you. I'd recommend two things: 1) Request a written breakdown of their calculations, and 2) Print out the relevant POMS sections to bring with you when you meet with them. Having the official policy in hand really helped when I had to push back on their initial calculation. Also, document everything - dates of calls, names of representatives you speak with, and exactly what they tell you. This becomes important if you need to escalate further up the chain.
As a newcomer to this community, I've been following this discussion closely and I'm really impressed by the level of expertise and support everyone is providing. This has been incredibly educational for someone like me who is just starting to navigate Social Security benefits. What really strikes me is how this appears to be a systematic issue rather than isolated errors. The fact that multiple families are receiving nearly identical explanations from SSA about "dividing the family maximum first" - when the correct procedure should be determining spousal eligibility first - suggests there may be widespread training problems or incorrect internal guidance at SSA offices. For everyone dealing with this issue, I wanted to add one more resource that might be helpful: the Social Security Administration's Program Operations Manual System (POMS) is publicly available online at policy.ssa.gov. The specific sections mentioned in this thread (GN 00615.060 and RS 00615.742) contain the official procedures for family maximum calculations. Having these printed out when you call or visit SSA could really strengthen your case. Also, if you do end up needing to file a formal complaint, the SSA Office of the Inspector General has an online reporting system specifically for benefit calculation errors. It's concerning that this systematic issue might be affecting many families with disabled adult children who may not realize their benefits are being calculated incorrectly. Thank you all for sharing your experiences so openly - it's helping educate newcomers like me about the importance of understanding these rules and advocating for accurate benefit calculations.
Welcome to the community! Your point about this being a systematic issue rather than isolated errors really resonates with what I've been observing throughout this discussion. The consistency in the incorrect explanations multiple families are receiving is quite telling. Thank you for providing the direct link to the POMS system at policy.ssa.gov - having that official resource readily available will be incredibly helpful for anyone dealing with similar calculation issues. The fact that these procedures are publicly accessible means families can verify whether SSA is following proper protocols. Your suggestion about the SSA Office of the Inspector General's online reporting system for benefit calculation errors is particularly valuable. If this really is a widespread training or procedural issue affecting families with DAC benefits, having multiple people report it could help identify and address the systematic problem more quickly. As someone new to Social Security benefits myself, this entire discussion has been an eye-opener about the importance of being informed and prepared to advocate for accurate calculations. The level of knowledge and mutual support in this community is remarkable - it gives me confidence that people can successfully navigate these complex situations when they have the right information and resources. I'm hoping all the families dealing with this issue get their benefits calculated correctly, and that this discussion helps prevent others from experiencing the same problems.
Talia Klein
For future reference, the MySocialSecurity online account can sometimes show these payments and explain what they are. If you haven't created an account yet, I highly recommend it. You can see your payment history, benefit verification letters, and manage direct deposit information without calling. Might have saved you some confusion in this case.
0 coins
Cedric Chung
AuthorI do have a MySocialSecurity account, but when I checked it yesterday, it just showed the deposit as "Social Security benefit" without any additional details about why it was a different amount. But I'll keep checking there first in the future!
0 coins
NebulaNinja
I'm new to this community but wanted to share that I had a very similar experience when I started my Social Security benefits last year. Got an unexpected $62 payment about two weeks before my first regular check. Like others have mentioned, it turned out to be a partial month payment to cover the gap between my entitlement date and when regular monthly payments begin. What helped me was keeping a simple log of all payments received - dates, amounts, and any correspondence from SSA. This way if there are ever questions later, you have your own records. The MySocialSecurity portal does eventually show more detail, but sometimes it takes a few weeks to update with the explanations. Don't stress about it - these partial payments are very common when starting benefits!
0 coins